MOS plugin

Few days back I was (again) angry at My Oracle Support “The page has expired” message appearing in an open tab I left for some time. I tried to find out how to avoid it, and it was relatively easy to do even though I don’t know JavaScript. Then I tried to make a plugin out of it so I it can be on by default & won’t need my attention.
Here it is: plugin for Chrome. It took me 2 seconds to come up with a name – MOS-cow and about 3 hours to prepare plugin.
Then I realized that having such plugin independently is probably not a good idea (it’s only for Chrome, and there are other browsers), and it may be enough to just add a custom JavaScript to Tampermonkey so it’s possible to use in almost any browser. So here it is. I don’t plan to add any new features at the moment, but maybe later. I know what else is needed but have no idea how much time it would take to implement, probably too much, which is not an option.
Anyway, I hope this little stupid piece of JavaScript helps you!

3 Comments

  1. Posted April 7, 2017 at 18:38 | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Timur,
    for a browser-independent solution, you might like to check out Tanel Poder’s “ShowMOS” bookmarklet: http://blog.tanelpoder.com/2013/08/19/c-mos-how-to-get-rid-of-the-annoying-the-page-has-expired-dialog-in-my-oracle-support/
    It’s not fully automatic, but did its job for me for years.

    Cheers,
    Uwe

    • Posted April 7, 2017 at 18:42 | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Uwe,
      Thanks, yes I know about Tanel’s script. My version doesn’t require to click anything, plus I did it for fun 🙂

  2. Posted June 18, 2017 at 14:53 | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve done a minor update to the Chrome plugin: it is now also enabled for internal Oracle portal https://mosemp.us.oracle.com

Leave a Reply

